Mike

I took part in The Big Sunflower Project for the first time in 2016. I don’t have a garden just a half-plot allotment, which is only a few minutes walk away from home, where I grow soft fruit, vegetables and lots of flowers including sunflowers.

One of the varieties I grew was the knee-high Musicbox which did really well (see picture below) so I’ll be growing it again. As I don’t have a greenhouse I sowed the seeds in small pots on the windowsill at home. When I planted them out on the plot I sprinkled some organic slug pellets around them. The plants produced numerous colourful flowers over a long period and didn’t need staking.

It’s said that sunflowers bring out the happy child in everyone. They certainly do with me, which is why I grow them as one of my favourite flowers and I’m happy to support this good cause, which includes linking to this website on my Flighty’s plot blog as I did in my ‘I’ll be growing sunflowers’ post.

mike

2 thoughts on “Mike

Leave a Reply

